- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Sunday, July 14, 2024

Kenya scraps entry fee for South Africans and other foreign nationals

image of Kenya flag

Recently updated on March 12th, 2024 at 01:04 pm

Kenya has abolished fees to apply for its new Electronic Travel Authorisation (eTA) for travellers from seven countries, including the key source market of South Africa.

The eTA came into effect at the start of 2024, ostensibly as a part of President William Ruto’s promise of providing visa-free entry to travellers from all countries globally. The eTA has been met with mixed reaction from the tourism industry — particularly travellers from previously visa-exempt countries such as South Africa, who are now required to apply for the eTA and were paying a US$34 (R644) processing fee.

The Ministry of Interior has subsequently exempted seven countries from paying the eTA fees, with effect from February 15, according to an in-house memo penned by Dr Dan Opon, Director of Immigration Services in the ministry.

Business News
the authorBusiness News
Business Travel is your source of travel and tourism insights. We provide tourism updates, interviews, destinations, reviews, news and videos straight from the travel industry.